top of page

Sunday Times Extra Feature!


Super excited to have been featured in The Sunday Times Extra! Here is the interview conducted by Santham Pillay.

___________________________________________________________________

AFTER being slapped down and told there was no market in South Africa for sci-fi books, Dhesan Pillay, 25, took matters into his own hands and published his debut novel, The Anmorian Legends: Wrath of the Exiled, all by himself. He spoke to SANTHAM PILLAY about the influence of Nelson Mandela, Meg the Hen and how the force is always with him.

Tell us about your book.

It follows the adventures of Rezaaran Valhara, a soldier with a gift to wield arcane powers, and his journey to end an ongoing conflict. However, his path is wrought with inner battles that he must find the courage to overcome before he can fulfill his destiny.

There is a Star Wars feel to the book. Were you inspired by the original trilogy?

The one defining idea from Star Wars that appealed to me was of a galaxy teeming with life that was interconnected by unfolding events. I also feel that the original trilogy had a charm and grandness about it that stemmed from the tales of the Jedi, the unique characters and the themes encountered.

You are self-published. Tell us about the process.

I sought a South African publishing house, only to be told they do not publish this genre and I would have better luck overseas. However, overseas publishing houses do not accept manuscripts submitted by authors without a literary agent.


I was on the verge of giving up when I discovered the poem Invictus [by English poet William Ernest Henley], used by Madiba to inspire prisoners on Robben Island. One line of the poem in particular, “I am the master of my fate”, resonated deeply with me. I decided to publish my novel under the imprint of The Invictus Group, a company I have registered for future publishing endeavours.

What was the first science-fiction novel you remember reading?

Douglas Adams’s The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

What impact did the book have on you?

It made science fiction seem fun and was a brilliant introduction to the genre. The series seemed to deviate from the typical fear that life beyond earth was violent and portrayed a much zanier, intriguing world.


Do you remember the first book you read?

The first book I read was probably the Phonic Farm series, I vaguely remember the stories involving Meg the Hen and Fat Pig. But the first novel I recall reading was Matilda.

What is your favourite book?

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King.

Has any book changed your outlook on life?

There have been several that had such an impact, both fiction and nonfiction. Some of these are To Kill a Mockingbird and Long Walk to Freedom.

Author or doctor?

I think of me being a doctor who also happens to be a writer, but my passion is equally shared between the two. There’s no reason we need to be defined by a single occupational choice.

Pillay ’s novel is available in electronic format from Amazon at R65.65.

© Sunday Times, Natal Metro, 14 December 2014. Page 05.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • goodreads_icon_1000x1000-aed808dec2093e20867b35cd56d9862d.png
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page